Heck no! This morning I was watching ESPN and Skip Bayless was jumping ship on all his picks. To him less than a week of the season is a reasonable sample size. It is far too early to start freaking out. If you were a fan of my picks here are some reasons to not be scared.
Boston Red Sox (0-3)
Okay, these guys had one of the most hyped offseasons we've seen in a long time. And so it is only normal to freak out when they start the season 0-3. Don't be fooled, this squad is talented. The offense just needs some time to get warmed up. Guys have been hot and cold so far, and once everyone gets going it'll be ridiculous. The pitching is a little disconcerting. Lester is a slow starter, don't be worried about him. Beckett pitched a pretty good game tonight, and Buchholz was a couple mistake pitches away from having a win on Sunday. Lackey and Dice-K are still questions. However, once all the cogs warm up and get moving they're going to have a good season.
Detroit Tigers (1-3)
The offense had some good showings against the Yankees, but the pitching gave up too many runs. Verlander is a slow starter; he had such a good spring so people thought he'd be ready to go at season start, but it seems he's up to his old tricks. Brad Penny is going to be average, that's a given, so nothing different there. My biggest concern is Max Scherzer. He was pretty wild against New York, but he might just be a slow starter too. Him and Porcello are their keys. They've got talent, they just need to realize it.
Oakland Athletics (1-2)
Spotty fielding, and that's it. They're defense has looked ugly and it's giving the pitchers a bad rep. However, Oakland is not known for bad defense. They have most of the fielders they had last season, and that squad had the 5th best team UZR in 2010. Once they settle down the pitching will shine and the defense will be brilliant. They can shut down Texas, the pitching is that dominate.
Toronto Blue Jays (2-1)
They're slugging big time. Ricky Romero and Kyle Drabek were very good in their first starts. Once Brandon Morrow is back they'll get that much better. No reason to be worried Jay fans.
Philadelphia Phillies (3-0)
They're having the start the Sox should have had. The pitching is great, the offense hasn't been horrible (though they were close to throwing away their first game). The long-term effect of the injuries has yet to be seen, but for now they're rolling.
Milwaukee Brewers (0-4)
The Brew Crew has got to get healthy. If Greinke was pitching game one there's a good chance they win. Also, they were a John Axford blown save away from winning that season opener. He's young, but was good last year; once he settles down his control he'll be shut down. Their pitching is so good, and their offense has been rolling so far. Once they get healthy look out.
Colorado Rockies (1-1)
Ubaldo was more wild than usual on opening day, but after two games we can't say anything about this team. As I'm typing this Chacin is going toe-to-toe with Kershaw and winning which is a great sign. The offense looks healthy and the pitching has been good. If the Rockies are going to go far they need to get going because right now the Dodgers look really dangerous. Matt Kemp is rolling and the pitching has been brilliant. Until the Giants get things figured out it's all LA and Colorado in the West.
Atlanta Braves (3-1)
Atlanta looks real good right now. If I knew the injuries that would befall the Phils I would've moved the Braves into first in the East. Right now they're offense looks greatly improved. Heyward and McCann have been hot, and Chipper is still healthy. Jurrjens is already back on the DL, but that farm system has so much pitching depth. The Braves are going to have a real good season, and if they stay healthy they could be a big contender.
No comments:
Post a Comment
Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.